The San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors created the SJCERA by Ordinance No. 485 dated April 29, 1946, operative and governed by the provisions of the County Employees' Retirement Law of 1937. In addition to providing the benefits mandated by the '37 Act, the Association administers retiree health care plans and cost-of-living programs. The SJCERA Board of Retirement oversees the Chief Executive Officer and staff in the performance of their duties in accordance with the 1937 Act, County Employees' Retirement Law, SJCERA's by-laws and policies set by the Board.

The SJCERA exists for the exclusive purpose of providing accurate, timely benefits and services to its members and their beneficiaries. The Association is also responsible for maximizing investment returns on member and County contributions, and defraying reasonable expenses of administration.

We are trusted financial stewards committed to provide excellent service and lifetime retirement benefits to our members.

The SJCERA provides retirement, disability, and death benefits to its general and safety members. Safety membership includes law enforcement personnel (Sheriff Officers, District Attorney Investigators, Probation Officers and Group Counselors). General membership includes all other occupation classifications that are not considered safety.

Although this retirement association was established for the benefit of San Joaquin County employees, SJCERA membership includes other local government organizations:

Lathrop-Manteca Rural Fire Protection District

Mountain House Community Services District

San Joaquin Local Agency Formation Commission

San Joaquin County Historical Society and Museum

San Joaquin County Law Library

San Joaquin County Mosquito and Vector Control District

San Joaquin County Superior Court

Tracy Public Cemetery District

Waterloo Morada Fire District

The Board of Retirement consists of nine members. The County Treasurer-Tax Collector, by virtue of the office, as mandated by state law, serves as a Retirement Board member. The second and third trustees are general members elected by the general membership. The fourth, fifth, sixth, and ninth trustees are qualified electors of San Joaquin County, who are not connected with County government in any capacity, except one may be a County Supervisor. These trustees are appointed by the County Board of Supervisors. The SJCERA's safety members elect the seventh trustee and SJCERA's retired members elect the eighth trustee. With the exception of the County Treasurer-Tax Colllector, all board members serve staggered three year terms.